Skip to content

Fender Frontman 10G vs Blackstar Debut 10E

Do you want the classic clean sound, or more features for the money?

Both are 10 W practice amplifiers with headphone outputs. What separates them is what Blackstar adds and what Fender is.

Fender Frontman 10G practice guitar amplifier with silver grille

Fender Frontman 10G

7.2/10

Wins 2 of 8

Check price

Blackstar Debut 10E practice guitar amplifier

Blackstar Debut 10E

7.2/10

Wins 3 of 8

Check price

≈ $120

Specification against specification

Compared on Frontman 10G Debut 10E
Power 10 W 10 W
Speaker 6 inch Not stated in listing
Channels Gain with overdrive switch Clean and overdrive
Tone shaping Not stated beyond gain ISF, British to American voicing
Built-in effect None Tape-style delay
Headphone output Yes Yes
Line/MP3 input Not stated in listing Yes, stereo
Warranty stated Two years Not stated in listing
Listed on amazon.com Yes Yes

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these products answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which player

Buy the Frontman 10G

Take the Frontman if you want a Fender clean sound and a stated two-year warranty, and if the amplifier will mostly be a way to hear the guitar while learning.

Buy the Debut 10E

Take the Debut 10E for more amplifier per dollar: ISF changes the voicing in a way an EQ cannot, the delay saves a pedal purchase, and the line input takes backing tracks in stereo.

The questions players ask

Is 10 W enough for anything but a bedroom?

No, on both. Playing with an acoustic drummer needs a different class of amplifier entirely. For practicing alone, with or without headphones, either is enough.

What does ISF actually change?

It sweeps the whole voicing of the amplifier between a British character — tighter, more midrange — and an American one, which is cleaner and more scooped. It is one knob doing what changing amplifiers usually does.

The detail, on each

  • Fender Frontman 10G

    10 W · 6" speaker · gain and overdrive switch · headphone jack

    The practice amp that ships inside half the guitar packs on the market, sold on its own: 10 W through a 6-inch speaker, a gain control, an overdrive switch and a headphone socket.

    Best for: The first amplifier, or a spare to leave permanently plugged in somewhere.

    7.2/10

  • Blackstar Debut 10E

    10 W · ISF tone control · tape delay · headphone and line in

    The same 10 W class as the Fender, with two things it does not have: Blackstar’s ISF control, which sweeps between British and American voicings, and a built-in tape-style delay.

    Best for: A first amp for someone who already knows they want effects.

    7.2/10

    ≈ $120