The X-frame stand is one of those products where the cheap version and the expensive version look identical and behave differently under load.
This one is single-braced, folds flat and offers five height settings, which covers a portable keyboard used sitting or standing. At this price it is the obvious partner for a first keyboard that has to be put away after practice.
The limit is stiffness. A single brace flexes, and under a heavy hammer-action piano that flex becomes movement you can feel while playing — which is distracting in a way that has nothing to do with the instrument. Double-braced X-frames and Z-frames exist for exactly that reason.
McGrey publishes no load rating here, so this page does not invent one. Match the stand to the weight of what stands on it.
The questions players ask
X-frame or Z-frame?
An X-frame folds smaller and costs less; a Z-frame is steadier under weight and lets you sit closer. For a light portable keyboard the X is fine. For a hammer-action piano that moves when you play it, the Z is the fix.
Will it hold my digital piano?
McGrey does not publish a load figure for this model, so we do not either. As a rule, a single-braced X-frame is intended for portable keyboards rather than for heavy console instruments.
A folding Z-frame whose width slides to any setting rather than clicking into increments, with foam pads on the arms — and the lowest published height figure on this shelf, at 20 inches.
Frame
Reinforced Z-frame with a stated stability lock mechanism, folding to a flat Z for transport (maker’s bullet)
Published range
20 to 34 in. Quoted as the maker gives it — the bullet is headed *infinitely adjustable width* and then says *any height between 20 & 34 inches*. The maker mixes the two words in one sentence; the figures are published, the dimension they belong to is not stated unambiguously
Width adjustment
A sliding lock rather than set increments — stated as infinitely adjustable, where many stands move in steps. The only continuous adjustment published on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Arms
Foam pads on the arms, stated to hold the keyboard against slipping and to stop the body being scratched. The only foam-padded arms on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Stated fit
54 to 88 keys (from the title)
Setup
Stated under a minute to set up or break down, packing flat (maker’s bullet)
Load rating
Pyle puts nothing in writing on this. Another page on this shelf states the rule: no published figure, none supplied here
Manufacturer reference
PKST38.5
Weight
4,400 g (155.2 oz) in the product record
Amazon reference
B089ND6BCY
EAN
0842893130361
Twenty inches is the lowest height published on this shelf — which is a child at a keyboard, not an adult
A sliding width lock sets any position, where stepped stands force a choice between two
The maker’s own bullet calls 20 to 34 inches a width under a heading about height
Best for: A keyboard shared between a child and an adult, where neither height is a compromise.
A double-braced X-frame with a padded bench in the same box: seven height positions on the stand, four on the bench, non-slip caps and straps that tie the keyboard down. Its stated fit stops at 61 keys.
Frame
Double-X construction in powder-coated steel, stated rust-proof. Another page on this shelf names the double-braced X as the answer to a single brace that flexes (maker’s bullet)
Stated fit
54 to 61 keys. The narrowest stated range on this shelf — every other stand here claims 61 to 88 or 76 to 88 (maker’s bullet)
Stand heights
Seven positions, set by a pull knob that releases and locks a center pin (maker’s bullet)
Bench
Included, in PU leather, with four height positions. Two of the twelve items on this shelf include a bench (maker’s bullet)
Retention
Non-slip caps and locking straps, stated to keep stand and instrument in place and to prevent the keyboard falling (maker’s bullet)
Folding
Folds flat, both pieces, for transport and storage (maker’s bullet)
Height figures
tipatyard puts nothing in writing on this. Seven positions are stated and no inches are given — the same gap as the X-frame already on this shelf, which states five settings and no figures
Load rating
tipatyard puts nothing in writing on this, for the stand or for the bench. The other bench on this shelf publishes 250 lb
Manufacturer reference
MN-0404
Weight
4,354 g (153.6 oz) in the product record, for two folded pieces
Amazon reference
B0C1GQ9MXT
EAN
0709923972325
A bench in the box, which is the thing nobody budgets for and everybody buys second
Double-X rather than single-braced, which is the fix another page on this shelf names
Stated for 54 to 61 keys, so none of the 88-key pianos on this site belong on it
Best for: A first 61-key keyboard that needs somewhere to sit as much as somewhere to stand.
A wooden stand that publishes what it will carry — 100 lb — and whose main stated claim is the space under it: a completely open, flat underside with no bar for the player to straddle.
Load rating
100 lb stated — the only figure on this shelf that is not 250 lb, and one of five load ratings published here at all (maker’s bullet)
Material
High-quality wood, stated as a rock-solid foundation that will not wobble or shake like cheap X-stands (maker’s bullet)
Legroom
A completely open and flat underside, stated to give the legs and feet significantly more space, without hitting or straddling a metal bar. The only stand on this shelf that makes legroom its stated claim (maker’s bullet)
Depth adjustment
Adjustable front-and-rear crossbars, to fine-tune the fit for pianos of different depths (maker’s bullet)
Retention
Non-slip pads and a stable locking mechanism to keep the piano in place once adjusted (maker’s bullet)
Stated fit
76 and 88-key digital pianos, most models (maker’s bullet)
Assembly
All hardware and instructions included, stated to assemble quickly without complex tools (maker’s bullet)
Height
Voxlumia puts nothing in writing on this — no figure and no range. The other wooden stand on this shelf publishes a fixed 25.2 in
Manufacturer reference
VM-068
Weight
6,804 g (240 oz) in the product record, which is 15 lb exactly — a shipping figure. Nothing here is ranked on it
Amazon reference
B0GWN842MS
EAN
8901089166781
A published load figure, which seven of the twelve stands on this shelf do not give
An open underside stated in writing: the knees clear the frame rather than working round it
No height published at all — not a figure, not a range
Best for: A seated player at an 88-key piano in a room, who has had enough of a bar between the knees.
A six-foot USB 2.0 A-to-B lead — the socket on the back of nearly every audio interface and USB keyboard. It is the only cable on this shelf that publishes its speed, its wire gauge, its certifications and a warranty.
Connection
USB 2.0 Type-A male to Type-B male, 6 ft (from the title)
Data rate
Up to 480 Mbps — the only transfer rate published on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Conductors
28AWG/2C + 26AWG/2C — the only wire gauge published on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Certifications
CE, FCC and RoHS — the only certifications published on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Warranty
30-day refund, 24-month exchange — the only warranty published on this shelf (maker’s bullet)
Named instruments
Yamaha digital pianos, Roland workstations, Donner DEP and DDP pianos, Alesis, Korg, Casio, AKAI Professional, Arturia KeyLab and MiniLab, Midiplus, Nektar Impact, Novation, M-Audio, Pioneer, Hercules, Numark, Behringer U-Phoria, PreSonus AudioBox (maker’s bullet). No other listing on this shelf names an instrument model
Also fits
Printers, scanners, hard drives, servers, DACs and development boards — the same socket, which is why the lead is cheap (maker’s bullet)
Maker
Stated a Washington, USA based company (maker’s bullet)
Manufacturer reference
6FTUSB-PRINT_AB
Weight
Not in the product record
Amazon reference
B01BIE98PO
EAN
5055890389099
The one cable on this shelf that fits the socket on the back of an audio interface or a USB keyboard
Four published figures — speed, gauge, certifications and warranty — that no other listing here gives
USB-A at the computer end, so a laptop with only USB-C sockets needs an adapter too
Best for: An audio interface or a USB keyboard whose box did not contain a lead — which is most of them.
Twenty-four high-density panels, 5 cm (2 in) thick, with adhesive supplied. The thickness is the specification that matters: 5 cm (2 in) reaches noticeably lower than the thin tiles sold in larger quantities.
Quantity
24 panels
Dimensions
30 × 30 × 5 cm (11.8 × 11.8 × 2 in)
Density
High density (ROVSON states)
Included
Adhesive
Amazon reference
B0D2XWQDBG (identical on 6 markets)
EAN
8436614640325
Five centimeters of high-density foam absorbs usefully lower than 2 cm (0.8 in) tiles
Adhesive supplied, so nothing else is needed to mount them
Adhesive mounting takes paint off a rented wall when removed
Best for: A room you own, or one where the panels can be mounted on frames.
Two pairs of 5A sticks in blue and green. The same nominal size as the reference set at a third of the price, which makes them the sensible sticks to learn to break.
Size
5A
Quantity
2 pairs
Finish
Blue and green
Amazon reference
B0C7L2XPDK (identical on 6 markets)
EAN
0843037102237
A third of the price of the reference set, for the same nominal size
Two colors makes it obvious which two sticks are a matched pair
SONICAKE does not state the wood in this listing, so this page does not either
Best for: A beginner’s first pairs, and spares to leave with the kit.